Go Go Gadget NanoTechnology

No, seriously, see what I did there? It’s hilarious. I used the expression ‘NANOTECHNOLOGY’ to mean ‘technology for NaNoWriMo’ rather than the more generally recognised ‘technology wot is, like, *well* small, innit’. I’m a blinkin’ (heavily sarcastic and rather drunk at this point) genius. Or not a genius: APPAZZA, according to Wikipedia, Nanotechnology “is the study of the controlling of matter on an atomic and molecular scale”. Yeah sure. Whatevs.

Anyway, look. There’s bloody loads of brilliant-sounding (although largely untested my me, so I can’t really comment on its actual brilliance) writery technology out there. Here are two music-based technologies that I’m all excited about at the moment. I’d explain them but, you know, I’ve got wine to drink an’ that:

Fave music stuff
SPOTIFY – Like borrowing someone elses music collection, but in an excellent way. Download it, type in what you want to listen to, and there you have it! You can – almost unbeliveably – create playlists etc using even the free version. Even the annoying adverts (which you don’t get if you cough up and pay for the Premium subscription) don’t spoil it…
Last FM – Music radio online. Type in a song or artist you like, and Last FM will use this to find tracks that are musically similar. Brilliant. Free. Win.

Tonight I’m listening to Gomez, Fleet Foxes, Temper Trap, and the brilliant song that my imaginary boyfriend Joseph Gordon-Levitt dances to in 500 Days of Summer, You Make My Dreams. Speaking of Joseph Gordon-Levitt, if you like aforementioned man, or love good film shorts with quirky visuals and scripts, then I DEMAND that you watch Morgan M. Morganson’s Date With Destiny immediately. When not swooning over my imaginary boyfriend I’ve been browsing the TV Tropes website on the advice of a fellow NaNo-er (be warned: it’s highly addictive and is going to be one hell of a procrastination tool when it all kicks off) and checking out a whole host of…

Story writing software

Storybox – I didn’t really like the way this looked so deleted it almost immediately. I’m shallow like that.
Storybook – Better looking than Storybox but still a bit fiddly for the stage I’m at now… maybe later.
Spaaze.com – A nifty on line corkboard that’s simple to look at and just as simple to use. First impressions are pretty good.
Bubbl.us – THIS IS A GLORIOUS INVENTION! Online mind-mapping, simple to work, beautiful to behold, free to use. You can test it out without signing up and I IMPLORE you to do so immediately. Thank you to NaNoWriMo’s EvilBenFranklin for bringing this into my life.

More technologies to come later, when I’m less likely to fall off my chair asleep.

2 thoughts on “Go Go Gadget NanoTechnology

  1. nic says:

    I’m so excited that you are doing nano this year. The stuff you have for planning looks great, although I do love Liquid Story Binder, it took me a long time to get used to it.

    An absolute must for actually writing during November (and worth every penny of the $10) is . I genuinely don’t think I could have won last year without it. There is a free version on the website, but I always get worried that my browser will crash losing my work, so having the desktop one was great. It was also good to use through twitter where you can challenge a stranger to a word war (try and get to a word target first). I may be a little bit competitive.

    Good luck!

    • saronthestair says:

      Lady! I’ve now used the online version of Write or Die and I’m pretty impressed… except when I pause for ages and it starts to delete the words I’ve written!! GITS! Liquid Story Binder looks like hot stuff but I worry that it’d take me the rest of October to work out how to use – whaddya think? How’s the NaNo project going? Competitive is GOOD (particularly when Chilli Heatwave Doritos are the prize…!) xxxxx

Say something, why don't ya!

