‘Be fine

It’s Thursday night. I’m leaving Glorious Yorkshire on Saturday morning. I fly out to Abroad a week today.

Just sayin’.

I’d kinda expected someone to stage an intervention by this point, if I’m honest.

“OF COURSE YOU CAN’T GO AND LIVE IN THAILAND ON YOUR OWN, YOU IDIOT!”. Passport stolen, probably burned. Someone rolling their eyes at me. Tutting. That kind of thing.

It hasn’t happened yet but I can only assume that the moment is near. I’m alert; poised for action; expectant. I’m keeping an eye on my passport at all times and, yes, of course I’m wearing matchsticks in my eyes at night, just to be on the safe side. Because OBVIOUSLY The World knows this scheme probably a bad idea and that I can’t really be trusted with all Life and Adventures and that. The World definitely knows that, right people?

‘Be fine, though. That’s my new situation-specific motto. It’s good because it slips off the tongue real nice alongside a little shrug of the shoulders and makes everything seem more manageable, like when you wash your hair with L’Oreal, because You’re Worth It.

Yeah. ‘Be fine.

 

1 week to go…

3 thoughts on “‘Be fine

  1. elsewhereunderwritten says:

    Don’t worry, it’ll be like the Truman Show – you’ll keep trying to get to the airport and things’ll keep happening. “Well jeez [I don’t know why they’re American] but this ol’ tree just fell over the highway so I guess you’re jus’ gonna have to head home. No Thailand for you today.”

    True fact.

  2. Sasperella says:

    I honestly half thought it would go this way – unbelievably, it hasn’t! I’m here! Someone’s made a HUGE mistake!

Say something, why don't ya!

